Now the Real Chanukah Test Begins

Thanksgivikah has passed never to come again because of the unusual coincidence of secular and Jewish calendars. Still, today more than ever, due to the US-Iranian deal, the courage we celebrate with on Chanukah will be more needed than ever before. It has become clear that Israel and the Jewish people stand alone against the forces eager to appease evil in the false hope it will go away. They have forgotten the vow of Never Again and are eerily embarking on the same path that western leaders took the world down in 1938 promising peace in our time. We know what happened then.

For the rest of the week of Chanukah we need to steel ourselves with the courage of the Maccabees as we lobby our government, Congress, and the entire world to the grave dangers of a nuclear Iran and the need to stop it not just with vague, ambiguous words but with concrete actions.

Here are a couple of Chanukah stories to share with your families and friends.

Chanukah story

The Brightness of Candles

Chag Chanukah Sameach—may you spread the courage of the Maccabees to resist evil.

Also, feel welcome to check out all the stories on JewishFamilyStories.com.

And watch this blog for news about and excerpts from my upcoming novel for Jewish young adults, The Uncertain Art of Hooking Up.  Online you also can find my paperback book: Miracles–stories for Jewish children and their families.

Follow this blog on Twitter, @storyjewish

One thought on “Now the Real Chanukah Test Begins

  1. Growing up in southern California was strange, because my parents never talked about religion. All my grandparents were from Hungary and escaped years before my birth in 1951. When I was going to public school, weekly two buses would pull up in the K-8 I attended. One bus was for Catholics and the other was for Protestants. The teacher was left with 7 students, one of which was me. I didn’t know what I was and I didn’t want to guess. My parents were very frugal, but later in life i realized it wasn’t worth all the effort. After my father died, my mother wanted to get rid of all his stuff and she did. When my brother received a phone call from a neighbor nine years ago, a neighbor was concerned about my mother not taking her trash out as she had every week previously. My brother called me at school and I left the campus to check on her. I found her dead in one of the bedrooms, guarded by her favorite dog. My sister started doing genealogy and came upon the fact my mother was Jewish and my father was Catholic. I had been telling my sister and brother for decades that I thought my parents were Jewish, but they decided it could not be true. My sister found, what I had been telling them for years to be true. My mother was Jewish. Personally, i felt great. It was comforting to know that which I felt to be true over so many decades was actually true. I had been baptized into a different religion 3-4 decades prior, but it meant nothing now. The fact I was Jewish by the fact my mother was made me happy. I realize the reason why my mother and father would not talk about religion was to avoid persecution. She knew if she never talked about it, no one would know. I am grateful in finally knowing the truth and i feel my life makes sense and I am comforted by the fact I do have a religious history. When I talk to people I will mention that I am Jewish and it makes me proud to have this affiliation. I wish my parents had the ability to tell us when we were children, it would of meant so much to us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

